top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAmelia Stefanova

Review of the Year

Updated: May 7, 2020

This year has been really interesting and beneficial for me. Also, it was completely different from First Year at university. From the new building to the new staff it all felt like a fresh start.

Our first project was called Discover Huddersfield, and the first part of it was collaborative working. Something I was not looking forward, because I was not that keen on group projects. As it usually happens someone ends up doing the whole work. However, that was not the exact case, but it was not the best either. Eventually, I was delighted with the work that I did, and the skills that I developed then were how to researched deep and how to speak in front of a lot of people. These are skills that I would use a lot in my future studies and career.

The next part of the project was designing an exhibition stand that was related to our first task. I developed my concept thank to the research that I did in the group project. While designing I was putting myself in the shoes of the people whom I was designing for to see their needs and interests. I made my model of the exhibition stand the same material as the original one in order to be the most authentic that it could be. After all, I was satisfied with the final design and result, but the feedback that I got disappointed me a little bit. Even though my design was working, it was not that innovative that I was thinking. Reading my feedback made me realize what I should have changed some things to be better.


The second project was Berghaus for Student Design Awards. Firstly, I was anxious about the project because I did not know anything about the brand. Of course, I caught up with research and developing my concept. The problem with time management came. I realized that I was working more on visual presentation and developing digitally rather than developing the physical development pack. Fortunately, everything was on time in the end. Thank that project, I developed my time managing skills and critical thinking skills better.


My last project was a retail design. I had to design a store of the brand Choc-Affair, which is a company for handmade chocolate bars. This was a project I genuinely enjoyed. Developing the concept for this project was an interesting process, thanks to the concept generation tutorials. Moreover, while working on this project I developed my rendering skills to a level that I have never thought I would reach.


Generally, this academic year taught me a lot. And I believe that everything that I have learned so far and all of the skills that developed further will help me with future projects.


Reference:

*All photos are author's

9 views0 comments
bottom of page